× Close Student Dashboard Support
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Old World, New World

June 26 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Antonin Dvořák was a world renowned Czech composer when Jeannetter Thurber, founder of the National Conservatory in New York City, hired him to be the school’s Director and to develop a school for American composers in 1892. Dvořák arrived by steam ship and immediately was inspired to write some of his most well known works including the New World Symphony, American String Quartet and the cello concerto. Dvořák’s influence is heard in the String Trio of Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson.  

Click here for program

Thanks to our generous sponsors, all Ascent Summer Concert Series concerts are free and open to the public.  Interested in supporting the future of classical music?  Check out our Support page!

Ascent Music is a 501 (c)(3) not-for-profit organization (FEIN: 87-3843803). Gifts to Ascent Music are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law. Please consult your tax advisor for further information.


Piano Trio by Bedřich Smetana

Sonata No. 1 for Violin & Piano by Gabriel Faure

String Trio by Coleridge- Taylor Perkinson

Viola Quintet by Antonin Dvořák


Olga Dubossarskaya Kaler, violin 

Judith Ingolfsson, violin

Paul Laraia, viola

Alan Rafferty, cello

Karlos Rodriguez, cello

Vladimir Stoupel, piano

Joanna Patterson Zakany, viola




June 26
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Ascent Music Group
View Organizer Website


The Chapel at Western Reserve Academy
147 College St.
Hudson, OH 44236 United States
+ Google Map
View Venue Website